Crochet 101 and a bit of new crochet LINGO

After being asked a good few times, “please teach me how to crochet” by a few of our friends,  Vicky and I decided to host a mini crochet lesson for a few lovely ladies. I’m not sure who was more nervous – us or them – but I know I was scared senseless for a number of reasons:

  • neither of us have ever taught anyone to crochet before
  • I learned to crochet when I was, like 9! Everything else I learned from a book.
  • I’m not even sure I know where that dreaded last stitch of a row is…
  • my first “teaching” experience was with my eldest daughter when she was 5 – it was her turn to bring cake to school for “Baker Day” so we made cupcakes together. It ended…..well, let’s just say that I think I may have been the one acting like a 5 year old *ashamed face*
  • I knew that the toughest challenge was going to be teaching them how to hold the yarn and needle correctly
  • and THE WORST FEAR BY FAR – we had a left-handed trainee student…eeeekkkk!!!!

(this is my good friend Liz, who picked it up in minutes – future crochet addict in the making)

Luckily for us, we needn’t have worried because these girls were super fast and enthusiastic learners! The morning disappeared in a flash with the satisfied looks of accomplishment on face after face…ahhhhh, love it!


(Sandi and Sabine….Sandi is the proud owner of the wonky scarf which will feature below, and Sabine who can crochet beautifully but needed to learn new stitches)

Mind you, the morning did have its fair share of awkward moments that we chalked up to “new-Crochet-speak”  Here are a few terms and explanations that you are welcome to add to your repertoire;

* Loosen Up did not mean “chill out Liz”. It means loosen the way you are holding your hooks and yarn…

* Get a Grip certainly did not mean that anyone was loosing their mind with frustration and needed to snap out of it – it just meant that holding the hook firmly would make life a whole lot easier

* Get Your Wool On – no, not a hip and trendy way of saying “sista, you gotta just crochet it up, girl” – It was just a reminder that your yarn had to stay wrapped carefully around your pinky, under your ring finger, over your middle…..arggg, you know what I mean!

* Where is the hole??? – I can’t find the next hole!!!!!……er, um, you can work this one out!

(This is Anthea on the left – a laugh a minute and the morning’s entertainment, – love this chick! And, ahem, my Super Lovely Cuzzy Lynda who, you may notice, doesn’t have any form of crochet in her hands…hmmmmm)

 (this is me, sitting on the table, teaching Christine, Miss Left-Handed!)

(this is Vicky, her Mum, and her beautiful boys  🙂  )

(and this is beautiful Alyce, – not sure why she came to a beginners class seeing as though she had the most gorgeous nearly-finished baby blanket in her bag for her eminent baba!)

One thing is for sure – we all had fun and I have a sneaky suspicion that there are going to be a few more of these mini sessions in the very near future.

Watch this space 🙂

And, as promised...the Wonky Scarf by Sandi….I think it’s pure perfection actually, don’t you?!!!

Photo: This has got to be the world's wonkiest scarf.  I keep finding stitches then losing them, then finding some more... I'm not certain this is the way it's supposed to be done!

18 thoughts on “Crochet 101 and a bit of new crochet LINGO

  1. Good for you. It is good to challenge ourselves. It looks as if you may have found a new talent here! I especially like it when it ends up with an amusing post – thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. My friends and I were going to do something similar, but had to cancel at the last minute. But it looks like you guys had so much fun I think it may be time to suggest we try again!

    • DO it!!!! I am so happy that we did – I was truly amazed at the positive response and even more delighted that I now have more friends that love to crochet!!!

    • You really should do it – it wasn’t near as scary as I thought it would be and the others (even though I still consider myself a novice) thought we were pro’s!!!

    • You really should just do it! Make it very informal – the great thing is that you will realise that you know a lot about crochet and are really great at what you do! It’s also far more fun that you think 🙂

  3. I’ve done this with a few friends to! My mom taught me and then I got a really good book to learn the other stitches plus, you can always google instructions. Glad you ladies had fun and by the way, scarf looks awesome!!!

  4. Pingback: Alyce’s entry – Upcycled Momma T’s to Baby T’s! | woolhogs

    • Thank you!!! I am still waiting to see the finished scarf so will post a pic when she is finished! Hahaha, not sure about being a great teacher – luckily just had very keen students!

Leave a Reply

